Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

Australian Swim Schools Hall of Fame

The Australian Swim Schools Association (ASSA) launched the Australian Swim Schools Hall of Fame during its inaugural Awards Dinner on the 16th August at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.  This Hall of Fame will recognise outstanding contributions to the Swim Schools Industry, incorporating the teaching of swimming and water safety. Long time industry servant and history buff, Ted Tullberg, has been appointed the Curator.

Operating on a two tier system, the first level will see Inductees into the categories of ‘Pioneer’, ‘Science’, ‘Humanitarian’ and ‘Outstanding Contributor’.  The Inductees will receive a ‘Steedman’. In 1867, Charles Steedman’s 270 page “Manual of Swimming” was published in Melbourne. The world’s first technical book on “speed swimming”, it marked the beginning of swimming’s modern era.  The book also contained tips on how to rescue people.  As English Swimming Champion, Steedman immigrated to Australia in 1854, becoming a passionate advocate of learning to swim.

The top tier of the Australian Swim Schools Hall of Fame is reserved for the ‘Legends’. Exceptional service over an extended period is the primary criteria for this level. The Inductees will receive a ‘Forbes’, in honour of global swimming legend, Forbes Carlile MBE.

Year Category Inductees
2016 Legends 01 Forbes & Ursula Carlile
2016 Legend 02 Laurie Lawrence
2016 Pioneer Bernie Shapland
2016 Outstanding Contribution Julie Zancanaro
2016 Humanitarian Paul Sadler Swimland
2016 Science Prof. Robyn Jorgensen
2017 Legend 03 Paul Sadler
2017 Pioneer Pat Taylor
2017 Outstanding Contribution Dave DuBois
2017 Humanitarian AWSOM Project
2018 Legend 04 John Bainbridge
2018 Pioneer Terry Gulliver
2018 Outstanding Contribution Claire Timmermans
2018 Humanitarian Little Heroes Swim Academy
2019 Legend 05 Dina Van Dyk
2019 Pioneer Pat Wright
2019 Outstanding Contribution Barbara Nolan