National Excellence Awards

The Australian Swim Schools National Excellence Awards recognises the outstanding achievements of ASSA Member Swim Schools.

*please note nominations for the National Excellence Awards for 2021 are now closed


All nominations should include a 200 – 250 word ‘snapshot’ of the program or initiative; and address any future plans and possible impact on the industry. Supporting images and documentation must accompany the nomination.

The recipients of the awards will be announced at the Australian Swim Schools National Awards of Excellence dinner.

Please note: these awards are to recognise ASSA Member swim schools only.  If you wish to take advantage of this please join us HERE.

SAFER Swimming Award

This award highlights and recognises swim schools who are living and breathing the SAFER Swimming message, and are passionate about the importance of drowning prevention. The nomination should include how students, parents and the local community are engaged.

Inclusive Swimming Award

This award highlights and recognises swim schools that are making a difference in the world of Inclusion. The nomination should address the program’s contribution to diversity and social inclusion.

Outstanding Growth Award

This award highlights and recognises swim schools that have grown their Swim School significantly, particularly over the past year or so. The growth may be exceptionally strong in one area or be over a range of areas. The nomination should address the timeframe being referenced and the strategies employed and tactics to maintain the growth or sustain the gains.

Community Service Award

Swim Schools have a rich history of extending their services into their community. This may include the likes of providing lessons for the disadvantaged or donating to groups in need. Nominations in this category should detail what has been done and note the outcomes.

Emerging Talent Award

This award (which replaces the Young Gun we’ve had in previous years) recognises the future of leadership in our industry as an emerging talent. The recipient will be an individual who displays the qualities, skills and drive to inspire and motivate others. The nomination could be a story of impact or sacrifice, someone providing mentoring or support to others, seeing the potential and taking action; someone who has made a major contribution to their workplace and/or the industry as a whole, or has demonstrated a significant commitment to career progression and professional development.  You are welcome to nominate more than one individual from your organisation, sharing each nominee’s unique story.